Jul 03, 2024

Reunion 2024 Recap

On June 7–9, Colby graduates from around the world returned to campus to reminisce, reconnect, and engage with the Colby community. We are so grateful for the 800+ alumni, families, and friends who joined us in Waterville for the festivities!

This year’s reunion highlighted graduates from class years ending in 4s and 9s, with the major milestone classes of 1974 and 1999 commemorating their 50th and 25th reunions, respectively. The oldest alum in attendance was Jean Perkins from the Class of 1946, celebrating her 78th reunion!

Relive the weekend by watching these video highlights and checking out our photo album.

Event Highlights

During the mostly sunny and warm weekend, attendees were able to tour several Colby facilities, including the Harold Alfond Athletics and Recreation Center, the Gordon Center for Creative and Performing Arts, and Allen and Benner islands; hear numerous speakers at Alumni College; partake in the Food Truck Festival and the Maine Beer and Wine Festival; and celebrate with karaoke, casino games, and dance parties featuring music by Groove Alliance and an all-alumni band, Pearl.

The Parade of Classes, a perennial Reunion highlight, prominently featured the Class of 1974 as they celebrated their 50th reunion and the Class of 1999 marking their 25th reunion. In a stimulating conversation, President David A. Greene P’20, ’24 spoke with Trustee Emerita Leslie Biddle ’89, Deputy Under Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy, about the current state of the College and plans for its future.

Attendees gathered to remember and honor classmates who have passed away at the Boardman Memorial Ceremony, then met with their respective classes for photos, receptions, and dinners. Ultimately, it was a wonderful weekend for reflection, reuniting, and recreation!


The deserving recipients of this year’s Alumni Awards were as follows:

The Blue Key Award, given to alumni who have graduated within the past 10 years and have provided consistent and dedicated service to Colby: Jonny Cangemi ’19, Cameron Clouse ’19, Jennifer Nale ’14.

The Brick Award, given to members of the Colby family who have demonstrated outstanding loyalty to the College through consistent and dedicated service on its behalf: Alexander Bici ’94, S. Ann Earon ’74, Jon Eustis ’69, P’96, Mike McHale P’19, Cheri Bailey Powers ’79.

The Ernest C. Marriner Distinguished Service Award, recognizing a member of the Colby family for exceptional commitment to Colby, demonstrated by lifelong dedication to the support of the College and its goals: Richard Y. Uchida ’79.

The Distinguished Alumna Award, recognizing someone who has achieved unusual distinction in their profession or avocation: Rebecca Littleton Corbett ’74, P’09.

The Outstanding Educator Award, presented to someone who has demonstrated exceptional distinction in the classroom: David Robert Surette ’79.

The Charles W. Bassett Faculty Award, recognizing a faculty member with extraordinary service to alumni programs: Whitney King, Dr. Frank and Theodora Miselis Professor of Chemistry.

The Edson V. Mitchell ’75 Distinguished Service Award, presented to an alumnus/a within 25 years of graduation for extraordinary service to Colby: Kaitlin McCafferty ’04.

Congratulations to all of these exceptional winners!

Looking Ahead

Mark your calendars for Reunion 2025! We’ll reconvene June 6–8, 2025, to celebrate class years ending in 5s and 0s. In the meantime, why not nominate someone for the Alumni Awards 2025?